By The Numbers

[ Photo: Franklin Peak, Nate Gillette / No Barriers ]

CVNM has published our Conservation Scorecard annually since 2005, and we have some interesting data to share over the span of 16 years. From 2005 to 2020, how are our legislators representing New Mexico’s strong conservation values? Find out below:

The Senate improved in overall performance on conservation issues in the 54th Legislature. The average conservation score earned in the Senate in 2019-2020 is 68%, a decrease from 71% in the 53rd Legislature. At the same time, Senate Democrats increased their conservation score by 4%, while Senate Republicans decreased their conservation score by 12%.

The House of Representatives overall performance on conservation issues decreased in the 54th Legislature to 61%, from 67% in the 53rd Legislature. The decrease in the House average conservation score is due primarily to the House Republican conservation score decreasing from 37% to 10% (a decrease of 27%).

100%’ers and 0%’ers
By Chamber

Average Scores by Chamber

CVNM’s Cycle of Accountability

CVNM’s work to report to you about how your legislators voted on key conservation policy during each legislative session is part of our strategic approach to building power for the environment and ensuring New Mexicans’ air, land and water is protected. We call this approach the “Cycle of Accountability.”

Click on the name or number of any specific piece of legislation, and you’ll be directed to an individual page that features a description of the piece of legislation or amendment, the outcome of the measure, each legislator’s voting record, and more. Click on an issue name to learn more about that topic, and to see the full list of related Scorecard votes.


  • Air Quality Air Quality
  • Effective Government Effective
  • Energy & Climate Change Energy &
    Climate Change
  • Environmental Justice Environmental
  • Land Land
  • Water Water
  • Wildlife & Habitat Conservation Wildlife & Habitat

Priority Bill # Title Sponsors Topics CVNM
HB 9 Community Solar Act   more Brian F. Egolf
Andrea A. Romero
Patricia Roybal Caballero
Antoinette Sedillo Lopez
Elizabeth Stefanics
Support 2020
HB 11 PRC Reorganization & Transfer Duties   more Nathan P. Small
Linda M. Trujillo
Support 2020
HB 173 Gas Taxes, New Funds & Distributions   more Matthew McQueen
Support 2020
HB 201 Energy Storage System Tax Credit Changes   more Abbas Akhil
Support 2020
HB 217 Electric Vehicle Income Tax Credit   more Micaela Lara Cadena
Matthews Marian
Javier Martínez
Jim R. Trujillo
Pat Woods
Support 2020
HB 318 Oil & Gas Tax Changes   more Phelps Anderson
Rod Montoya
Larry R. Scott
James R.J. Strickler
Oppose 2020
HM 29 Energy Operating Bonding Amounts   more Matthew McQueen
Support 2020
SB 29 Solar Market Development Income Tax Credit   more Mimi Stewart
Matthew McQueen
Support 2020
SB 33 Study Funding for Nongame Species Conservation   more William P. Soules
Support 2020
SB 75 Wildlife Trafficking Act   more Mimi Stewart
Support 2020
SB 95 Radioactive Waste Consultation Task Force   more Jeff Steinborn
Matthew McQueen
Support 2020
SB 114 Community Energy Efficiency Development Grant   more Gerald Ortiz y Pino
Andrea A. Romero
Support 2020
SB 180 Fees for Used Oil Businesses   more Elizabeth Stefanics
Support 2020