By The Numbers

[ Photo: Franklin Peak, Nate Gillette / No Barriers ]

CVNM has published our Conservation Scorecard annually since 2005, and we have some interesting data to share over the span of 15 years. From 2005 to 2019, how are our legislators representing New Mexico’s strong conservation values? Find out below:

The Senate improved in overall performance on conservation issues in the first session of the 54th Legislature. The average conservation score earned in the Senate in 2019 is 72%, an increase from 71% in the 53rd Legislature. A remarkable achievement, even at 1%, to be credited to the Senate Democrats increasing their conservation score by 7% while the Senate Republicans decreased their conservation score by 7%.

The House of Representatives overall performance on conservation issues decreased in the first session of the 54th Legislature to 65%, from 67% in the 53rd Legislature. The decrease in the House average conservation score is due to the House Republican conservation score decreasing from 37% to 13% (a decrease of 24%).

100%’ers and 0%’ers
By Chamber

Average Scores by Chamber

CVNM’s Cycle of Accountability

CVNM’s work to report to you about how your legislators voted on key conservation policy during each legislative session is part of our strategic approach to building power for the environment and ensuring New Mexicans’ air, land and water is protected. We call this approach the “Cycle of Accountability.”

Click on the name or number of any specific piece of legislation, and you’ll be directed to an individual page that features a description of the piece of legislation or amendment, the outcome of the measure, each legislator’s voting record, and more. Click on an issue name to learn more about that topic, and to see the full list of related Scorecard votes.


  • Air Quality Air Quality
  • Effective Government Effective Government
  • Energy & Climate Change Energy & Climate
  • Environmental Justice Environmental Justice
  • Land Land
  • Water Water
  • Wildlife & Habitat Conservation Wildlife & Habitat

Priority Bill # Title Sponsors Topics CVNM
HB 28 Resource Sustainability and Security Act   more Melanie A. Stansbury Support 2019
HB 206 Environmental Review Act   more Gail Chasey,
Mimi Stewart
Support 2019
HB 210 Community Solar Act   more Patricia Roybal Caballero,
Elizabeth Stefanics,
Andrea A. Romero
Support 2019
HB 220 Determination of Discharge Effect on Water   more Matthew McQueen Support 2019
HB 255 Mining Permit Corporate Guarantees   more Matthew McQueen Support 2019
HB 263 State Game Commission Changes   more Matthew McQueen Support 2019
HB 287 No Use of State Resources for Border Wall   more Angelica Rubio Support 2019
HB 289 Fund Investment in Renewable Energy   more Sheryl Williams Stapleton Support 2019
HB 291 Efficient Use of Energy Act Changes   more Andrea A. Romero Support 2019
HB 353 Reduce Certain Oil & Gas Tax Rates   more Paul C. Bandy,
Cathrynn N. Brown,
Greg Nibert,
Larry R. Scott,
James R.J. Strickler
Oppose 2019
HB 366 Wildlife Protection and Public Safety Act   more Roberto J. Gonzales,
Matthew McQueen,
Christine Chandler
Support 2019
HB 373 New Mexico Central Arizona Project Entity   more Gail Armstrong,
Rebecca Dow,
Candie G. Sweetser,
Gabriel Ramos
Oppose 2019
HB 398 Oil, Gas and Vented Gas Royalties   more Derrick J. Lente Support 2019
HB 440 Solar Energy Improvement Assessments   more Debra M. Sariñana,
Abbas Akhil,
Joseph L. Sanchez
Support 2019
HB 521 PRC Application for Vehicle Electricity   more Georgene Louis,
Angelica Rubio,
Pat Woods,
Phelps Anderson,
Joy Garratt
Support 2019
HB 547 Workforce Clean Energy Economy Study   more Javier Martínez,
Angelica Rubio
Support 2019
SB 51 Renewable Energy Services - State Facilities   more Jeff Steinborn Support 2019
SB 76 Prohibit Coyote Killing Contests   more Mark Moores,
Jeff Steinborn
Support 2019
SB 186 Oil Conservation Division Powers & Duties   more Matthew McQueen,
Richard C. Martinez
Support 2019
SB 456 Electric Utility Resource Procurement   more Joseph Cervantes,
Abbas Akhil,
Andrea A. Romero
Support 2019
SB 462 Create Outdoor Recreation Division   more D. Wonda Johnson,
Angelica Rubio,
Nathan P. Small,
Steven P. Neville,
Jeff Steinborn
Support 2019
SB 489 Energy Transition Act   more Brian F. Egolf,
Patricia Roybal Caballero,
Nathan P. Small,
Jacob R. Candelaria,
Mimi Stewart
Support 2019
SB 499 Climate Change Compliance Tax Credits   more William E. Sharer Oppose 2019
SB 500 Oil, Gas, and Vented Gas Royalties   more Bill B. O'Neill Support 2019
SB 518 New Solar Market Development Tax Credit   more Mimi Stewart Support 2019